Saturday, June 15, 2024

Buy now


Former Eastern Regional Chairman Loses NPP National Vice Chairman Position

Former Eastern Regional chairman Kingston Okomeng Kissi lost his bid to become a national Vice chairman of the ruling New Patriotic Party and has abandoned his reelection bid for Eastern Regional Chairmanship.

Kingston Okomeng Kissi two-term Eastern Regional Chairman was withdrawn from contesting Jeff Konadu during the Regional election of the NPP after various security reports revealed he was going to lose massively to Jeff Konadu.

The office of the President, therefore, brought in Kwadwo Boateng Agyemang, fourth-term incumbent New Juaben North constituency chairman to contest Jeff Konadu, for Kingston Okomeng Kissi to contest the National Vice Chairman position.

Jeff Konadu defeated Kwadwo Boateng Agyemang to win the Eastern Regional Chairmanship position some two months ago. Sadly, Kingston Okomeng Kissi failed to garner enough votes to be part of one of the three national Vice chairmen of the NPP last Saturday, July 16, 2022, national delegate’s conference.

He polled 2,069 votes behind Danquah Smith Butter, Rita Talata Asobayire, and Ahaji Masawudu Osman who garnered 2,982,2929 and 2,129 votes respectively.

It is not clear if the political career of Kingston Okomeng Kissi will be ended or will be appointed to serve in other capacities in the party.

 2022 National Annual Delegates Conference of the New Patriotic Party (NPP)  ended successfully.

The two-day event, which started on Saturday, July 16, and ended on July 17, 2022, at the Accra Sports stadium, virtually saw the election of new national executives.

Organized under the theme, ‘Holding Together, Working Together, the conference saw over 40 candidates vie for 10 positions with over 6,000 delegates participating.

Aside from the National Women’s Organizer and Nasara coordinator who retained their positions, all the eight other slots were filled by fresh candidates of the respective races.

The major upset at the end of the polls is the longest serving national officer, John Boadu, who lost in his election bid for the General Secretary position.

Stephen Ntim also became the new National Chairman after five attempts in 20 years.

All newly elected national executives have been duly sworn-in.

Mr. Stephen Ntim- National Chairman, Vice Chairman- Danquah Smith Buttey, Rita Asobayire- 2nd Vice Chairman, Alhaji Masawuud – 3rd Vice Chairman, Mr. Justin Frimpong Koduah- General Secretary, Henry Nana Boakye- National Organiser. Kate Gyamfua retained her position as National Women’s Organiser, National Nasara Coordinator- Abdul Aziz Haruna Futah also retained his position, National Youth Organiser position was worn by salam Mohammed Mustafa and Treasurer – Dr. Charles Dwamena.

Source: Ansah

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

[td_block_social_counter twitter="tagdivofficial" youtube="tagdiv" style="style8 td-social-boxed td-social-font-icons" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjM4IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwb3J0cmFpdCI6eyJtYXJnaW4tYm90dG9tIjoiMzAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn0sInBvcnRyYWl0X21heF93aWR0aCI6MTAxOCwicG9ydHJhaXRfbWluX3dpZHRoIjo3Njh9" custom_title="Stay Connected" block_template_id="td_block_template_8" f_header_font_family="712" f_header_font_transform="uppercase" f_header_font_weight="500" f_header_font_size="17" border_color="#dd3333"]
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles